Our History

How it all started

During the second half of the 1960's, a small group of Kentish coin collectors and dealers gathered on a regular basis, to travel across the River Thames for joint meetings with the Havering Numismatic Society in Essex. By March 1968, it was decided that the North West Kent and South East London areas were desperately in need of a Numismatic Society, and so Bexley Coin Club was formed.

Wing Commander Geoffrey Porter (RAF retired) became the first President, and Alan Miles the first Chairman. The late Stanley Draper was appointed the club's first Secretary. The inaugural meeting was held at St. Martins Church Hall in Bexleyheath on Tuesday April 23rd 1968, with more than forty people in attendance. The meeting was duly reported in the July 1968 edition on Coin Monthly.

In August of that year, our current President Roy Ladell joined, followed in September by our current General Secretary Anthony Gilbert.

During the early 1980's, the club's meeting night was altered from the fourth Tuesday of the month to the first Monday of the month. This was because Tuesday nights clashed with the meetings of the British Numismatic Society in Central London. Christopher Comber took over the Chairmanship from Alan Miles, and Chris remains our Chairman today.

Bexley Coin Club has been a member of B A N S - The British Association of Numismatic Societies for over 30 years.