English Jettons


The dates given for some series are based on the dates of issue of regal coins using the same punches. Jettons must have been reasonably contemporaneous, because coin punches are unlikely to have been kept for long after their coinage use had ended.

Unique reference numbers for jettons use the series below with the obverse and reverse numbers appended. Thus, a groat sized jetton, bearing the King's head, with obverse #2 and reverse #3 would be '1b.2.3'.

Series 1 jettons are groat sized. Series 2 to 4 are approximately sterling penny sized.

Jettons of series 1 to 4 do not have readable legends, the wording seen on coins being replaced by symbols or occasionally, random letters. Many Series 5 jettons have readable legends, usually of a religious nature, but occasionally alluding to their purpose.

Click on Blue text, in the list below, to view the 'obverses' page for a series.

  1. Edward I, Groat sized (1279 to 1282)
    1. Without King's head
    2. With King's head
  2. Edward I to early Edward III (Both sides unepigraphic)
    1. King's head obverse using coinage punches for Fox Classes 3 and 4 (1280 to 1283)
    2. King's head obverse using coinage punches for Fox Class 7 (1284 to 1294)
    3. King's head obverse using coinage punches for Fox Classes 10 (1302 to 1307)
    4. King's head obverse using coinage punches for Fox Class 11 to 15
    5. King’s head obverse using coinage punches for Edward III Third (Florin) coinage, c1344
  3. Edward I to early Edward III not crowned
    1. Non regal head obverse made with same face punches as series 2 (Fox class 11 to 15)
    2. Bishop’s head obverses some using face punches from series 2 (Fox class 3 to 15)
  4. Parallel and contemporary series with different obverses but reverses common to above.
    1. Bird obverses
    2. Castle obverses
    3. Crown obverses
    4. Eagle obverses
    5. Face obverses
    6. Lion obverses - Faces
    7. Lion obverses - One or Two (Rampant, Passant or Statant)
    8. Lion obverses - Three Lions/Leopards (Royal Arms)
    9. Quatrefoil and Cross obverses
    10. Rose obverses
    11. Shield obverses
    12. Sun and Moon obverses
    13. Miscellaneous obverses
    14. Double Reverse
  5. Edward III, possibly to Richard II (but no proof).
    1. 20 to 24 mm (medium size)
      2 basic types, king or lion with subtypes of each, many different reverses shared across obverses.
    2. 22 to 32 mm (large size)
      8 obverse types, the large variation in flan size means that some 5b obverses are found with 5a reverses.
  6. Cruder unofficial? Various sizes and types.
    1. 18 to 21 mm
      King’s head obverses made without the use of coinage punches.
      All probably 14th century.
    2. 21 to 25mm
      King under canopy types based on contemporary French jettons. Probably second half of 14th century.
    3. 18 to 27mm
      Lamb, shields and other miscellaneous devices.